INTRODUCTION

give a broader picture of where these plants occur in Australia.

State abbreviations

NSW – New South Wales (including the Australian Capital Territory)

Vic – Victoria

Tas - Tasmania

SA - South Australia

WA - Western Australia

NT – Northern Territory

Qld - Queensland

States in green text indicate that the species is considered native to part or all of that state.

*Note* For the purposes of this book the ACT has been included within NSW, and the NT referred to as a state.

The South-East Region There are no agreed regional boundaries for Australia, but geographic and climatic differences broadly divide it into four regions: the Arid Centre, the Tropical North, the South-West of Western Australia and the South-East (Muyt 2001). In this book the South-East Region includes all of Victoria, Tasmania and the Australian Capital Territory, the southern half of New South Wales and the south-eastern section of South Australia.

